Jae's Blog

Biore Aqua Rich Watery Mousse SPF 50+ PA +++ [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Biore by Jae on April 17, 2011

So I’ve been on a sunscreen roll and sat on this purchase for a super long time before caving in and buying it.

Here’s my new love, the Biore Aqua Rich Watery Mousse SPF 50+ PA +++ !

Now, this product comes in a 33g squeeze tube and retails for 18.90SGD which works out to be about 0.60SGD per gram.

Pricey or not, I’ll leave that up to you but when I compared it to the Biore UV Aqua Jelly SPF30/PA+++ (from the same Aqua range) which goes for 18.90SGD too but has got a whopping 90ml of product, it’s a lot more expensive. Though it’s only SPF30 and the word “alcohol” (just by itself, whatever that means) was second on the list so I gave that a pass.

The Biore Aqua Rich Watery Mousse is an SPF 50+ and PA+++ which, if the label is right, makes it a decent sunscreen for the face.

Now, I found 2 mentions of alcohol in this product but one was behenyl alcohol (a fatty alcohol, we’re against alcohol that will dry out the skin) so I personally believe it should be safe for the face. Not sure the first type of alcohol is but I tried it on my face anyways.

As mentioned before, it comes in a soft squeeze tube with a twist cap. This makes it great for traveling cause we won’t have to worry about the cap coming undone.

It also has a slim nozzle which is great for controlling how much product you use.

I experienced no wastage with my tube by squeezing the product directly onto my finger and then dotting it on my face.

The Biore Aqua Rich Watery Mousse touts itself as a light and comfortable sunscreen that’s meant to behave like “water on your skin” and I couldn’t agree more.

It’s almost like applying whipped cream on my face everyday and it’s incredibly comfortable.

There was no dryness or tightness and no greasiness either.

I’ve got very sensitive skin and this hasn’t given me any trouble so it’s up my list of favourite products for no makeup days.

I also love the citrus scent but it’s light and fades quickly.

Problem #1: It takes a lot of blending to get the product even.
Note my series of pictures, see how it doesn’t go in entirely smoothly?

So remember to blend it out well.

And my other complaint: My foundation doesn’t go well over it.

It tags along with my RMK Liquid Foundation so I get lines and have to spend extra time blending it out. This could be because I apply my foundation only about 5-10 minutes after using the sunscreen so I’m going to try it out again after having it on for longer though, I don’t think it would make for a good rush hour routine product.

Otherwise? It’s not greasy, not drying and is my favourite sunscreen for no makeup days right now. ❤

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rina said, on April 17, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    hmm.. it seems to leave a white cast on your hand. =/

    • Jae said, on April 17, 2011 at 12:47 pm

      HEY RINA!
      Ah haha, I didn’t really blend all the way in to show how much blending is required so it’s still very visible in the picture XDDD
      Otherwise it goes it rather clear.

  2. June said, on April 17, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Hi Jae, got an update on the Melliesh BB cream and mineral powder, a word of caution, not all it’s cracked up to be…. keep your expectations low, as to avoid disappointment. I held my hopes too high….

    The products are NOT too bad at all, it’s just that I was expecting better 🙂

    Please enjoy your weekend! and Happy early Easter!

    – June

    • dasotong said, on April 17, 2011 at 6:47 pm

      i ordered mine before checking reviews,it didn’t seem to get very good reviews at cosme 😦
      i had very high expectations of them too D:

      • Jae said, on April 18, 2011 at 1:37 pm

        Hey dearie!
        I’m so sorry to hear that… >_< Hmm… Maybe Yui will come up with a better product the next time round!

    • Jae said, on April 18, 2011 at 1:28 pm

      YUI ANGEL!!!
      Hey June!!!

      Oh dear… Hmm! I was expecting better…
      THANK YOU FOR THE HEADS UP DEARIE!!! ❤

      Hope your weekend went well love and happy early easter to you too~~~! ❤

  3. sundrenched said, on April 17, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    Hey Jae, so excited that I finally realized that canmake cream blushes can be applied using a kabuki brush! Hahaha it sounds so obvious but I always thought that cream blushes are applied using fingers since they are always shown being put on with fingers!

    I think I know why you haven’t reviewed any of canmake’s cream blush. 😀 They are so so shiny and creamy BUT, once when I put it on, my friend went “how come your face look so oily today” >.< I guess creamy stuff dont work my face that well…

    • Jae said, on April 18, 2011 at 1:39 pm

      Hey love!!!!
      XDDD You can also use a stippling brush yeah? You’re so cute XDDD ( STUPID WORDPRESS KILLED HALF MY MESSAGE TO YOU!)

      And yup~~~ they’re so pretty when swatched though… T_T Sigh! I’d probably use them as a highlighter but nothing else cause they’re too sparkly even for me!

  4. jodie said, on April 18, 2011 at 12:07 am

    waaah looks goodddd 😀 😀 😀 :D..
    meh i dont use sunscreen anymore on my face (i started using it on feb when i came to perth cus the sun is crazy… but then the sunscreen is dumb and i still became tanner to the state of icantdoanything and so i shall just become a roasted kantang…)
    so sad.. LOL

    • Jae said, on April 18, 2011 at 1:45 pm

      HEY DEAR!
      O.O WHATTTT?!?!!? EH DEAR AH! You have to use sunscreen especially cause you’re in Aus yo!!! >_<

      • June said, on April 18, 2011 at 6:33 pm

        Sunscreen is definitely a must in Australia, I wear SPF50, PA+++ all year round.

        And also….I take back everything I said about the BB cream and the powder….

        It…actually…is pretty GOOD!

        hehe….

        sorry about the over-reaction….

        It’s just the initial knee-jerk reaction… sorry about that.

        yes, It is decent. The bb cream is slightly dark (even for my post-summer skin tone), but with the right finishing powder, a little darker is way better / natural than a little lighter in color.

        But I’m now having concerns over whether it causes acne…hmmm….because it is slightly moisturizing than the foundations I ordinarily use…. and I did get a few bumps on my face…hmmmm…. it remains to be seen, which is why you should wear it for a week before posting a review, hahahaha.

      • Jae said, on April 20, 2011 at 11:24 am

        HEY JUNE!!!!!
        XD Most definitely, omg summer in Aus is like being tossed in an oven with the grill set to high T_T

        And XDDD you won’t believe how relieved I am to hear that love. XD No worries and it doesn’t look like it’s taken off among the models just yet though… Hmm, we’ll probably see an explosion of it in the latest issue of popsister XD

        And -nodding- i read that the formula is leans towards the moisturizing side so mmm. Definitely something to think about there… I’ve personally got combination-oily skin so it might cause some trouble for me too…. We’ll see how it goes… Thank you so much for the update dearie!


Leave a Reply

