Jae's Blog

Barbie x POPSISTER Collaboration!

Posted in Barbie, Tsubasa Masuwaka by Jae on April 30, 2011

Confession #1:
I used to love playing with Barbies. (read: used to)

Confession #2:
I hated when people tried to comb the hair of my dolls. (I still do. It gets their hair all tangled)

Confession #3:
I still have all my dolls. :3

I’ve since graduated to ball jointed dolls but eh, I grew up with Barbie so I was flipping through the latest issue of POPSISTER, found this gorgeous coordinate that Tsu-chan was wearing and found out it was a collaboration? I was all over it.

Turns out, some of the items in the spread’s from a collaboration with Barbie and it’s just too cute. T_T

Barbie’s also collaborated with Krispy Kreme for a donut decoration kit and a tumbler, among other things.

Now, if you’re interested in their collection, then you’d be interested in their site:

It’s http://www.barbiestore.jp/closet.html

Now the price range of everything is in the upwards of 6000 Yen which roughly works out to be around 90.00 SGD per piece… Quite normal for clothes from Japan, honestly.. Some things are already out of stock so hurry if you’d like a piece!

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sundrenched said, on April 30, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    Tsu-chan AND Barbie? I’m frothing from the cuteness! Haha I had barbies and hand me downs from my sis 😦 sadly I stupidly tried to wash the clothes and they either fell apart or the clothes had a lot of lint on them, I was so upset I threw them all away >.< twisting off a barbie's neck when I was making her do a head rotation exercise freaked me out for a couple of years too!

    I love the more spunky barbie clothes, like the pink one with the picture if barbie's face and the black, white, red horizontal dress! So cute! I don't know how Japanese gals can afford all these clothes PLUS stay in fashion every season!

    • Jae said, on May 3, 2011 at 12:43 pm

      HEY SUNDRENCHED! XDD
      >_< Oh gosh, traumatic memories much?!

      -laughing- I think they have a secret formula for growing money in their homes. Shh… XDDD But yes, I do wonder too… I have seen a lot of girls sell their clothes on yahoojp though I'm not sure how successful they are with that… Hmm.

  2. mitsukiyumiko said, on April 30, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    i love those polka dots clothes that Tsubasa was wearing 🙂
    they looked sweet!

    I loved to play with barbie dolls when i was young! I would even save up my pocket money to buy extra clothes and shoes for them as well! haha, the childhood times.. I even tried to highlight their hair with RED INK !
    bwahaha im weird right ❤

    • Jae said, on May 3, 2011 at 12:38 pm

      -laughing- Don’t they?! I swear, Tsu-chan always manages to make everything look cute! T_T

      And -nodding- hahaha, I hear you darling, I used to do the same thing. HAHAHA. I even tried to make clothes for them. Out of socks. No prizes for guessing how that turned out. XDDD HAHAHA DON’T WORRY DEAR, YOU’RE SO NOT WEIRD KAY, I TRIED GIVING MY DOLLS MANICURES WITH COLOURED PENS. Hahahaha!

      YAY RED NAILS! XDDD

  3. shuduck said, on May 1, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    gosh i also soooo into bjds! high five hehe! There’s an upcoming doll affair in June 18 ^_^

    • Jae said, on May 3, 2011 at 12:24 pm

      HEY SHUDUCK!!!
      Haha, I swear, your nickname is so cute. And -nodding- I’ll be there for it~!!! T_T Need new clothes for my kids. XDD
      And mmm, I actually have no idea why -laughing- but hey the designs are definitely fab, and I do think that for some brands, they quality control is pretty good so the final product that comes out feels very different from other items that come out of China… But aiyo, the price difference just isn’t justified in some cases! T_T

  4. shuduck said, on May 1, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    btw, i really do not understand why clothes are so expensive in Japan. Funny.
    It’s made in china.. I will get similar items from taobao instead.

  5. Savannah said, on May 2, 2011 at 7:55 am

    Cute! ❤

    Is this from the June Popsister?

    • Jae said, on May 3, 2011 at 12:22 pm

      Hey Savannah! 😀
      Yes it is! Hehe!

  6. Empire Amy. said, on May 2, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Hello!
    I just came by this blog and it’s AMAZING!
    I live in a country where it is really difficult to get makeup from Japan and Korea etc, so thankful for your reviews and scans!

    Keep up the work!

    • Jae said, on May 3, 2011 at 12:20 pm

      Hey Amy!
      😀 Thank you so much dearie!!! You totally made my day. -hugs-
      Haha, I definitely will~~~!!! ♥ Stay tuned for more~!

  7. shuduck said, on May 3, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    hahaa thanks fr ur reply! i so look forward to the upcoming doll affair n i hope it will be real good one. Heh, i bought some items fr japan spree bt they’re also all made in china too..no diff..jz prices diff BIG time diff! tsk tsk. haha my name ah..cos my name is shuhui n when i was young, i used to cry a lot n my sis said i resembled like a cry duckie so she called me shuduck lol

    • Jae said, on May 6, 2011 at 11:54 pm

      SHUDUCK!
      So sorry for the late reply darling!
      And -nodding- I certainly hope so! Haha, ahhhh man, I hate to find when things are made in china but everything seems to be these days! T_T
      XD OMG ARE YOU SERIOUS?! THAT’S DAMN CUTE! XDDDD


Leave a Reply

