Jae's Blog

Heavy Rotation Milky Lipstick (Sweet Pink – 03) VS MAC [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Kiss Me Heroine, MAC by Jae on May 14, 2011

A reader recently asked if I’d tried Heavy Rotation’s Milky Lipstick. Now, I’d seen it around at Watsons but never really took an interest because I felt it tugged a bit too much when swatched.

Purchased one for fun anyway cause the packaging was calling out to me. It’s so pretty and pink.

Presenting Heavy Rotation Milky Lipstick (Sweet Pink – 03)!

ALSO IN THIS POST:
Comparison between MAC’s Creme d Nude, Jazzed and Creme Cup! 

Found at Watsons Ngee Ann City and Bugis, I do believe that this lipstick will be making its rounds the rest of Singapore really soon so hang in there if your store hasn’t yet gotten stocks.

I love the front design of the packaging cause of all the pink and hearts. It’s just so cute.

And yes, each tube comes with 5g of product, which is decent for its price (It’s 16.90SGD, if I’m not mistaken… Do correct me if I’m wrong ❤)

The tube itself is nothing to rave about. It looks cheap and is made of light plastic, which makes it feel even cheaper.

I honestly think it looks like something you could buy from any tube station drugstore, which, come to think of it, is exactly it.

I personally don’t like the way they printed the gold on the tube… But it may or may not work for some people.

The tube twists up like YSL and comes with a flat top.

The lipstick claims to conceal and add colour all at once.

It also claims to help treat your lips for dryness, I do believe, seeing how they’ve got Hyaluronic Acid (Remember Hada Labo?) and coconut oil.

But really, we know better than to trust packages.

This shade is meant to be sweet pink but it looks a lot more milky peach to me and on my lips, well, it’s peachy.

I compared it to the stuff I have in my stash and the shade is actually perfectly between Jazzed and Creme Cup.

My MAC’s lipsticks have a shiny finish while the one from Kiss Me’s doesn’t but keep in mind here that this range from Kiss Me is meant to give a MATT finish.

And it’s matt alright.

applied the lippy with a lip brush because:

1) I use lip brushes with all my lipsticks
2) This lipstick tugs like crazy when I swatched it on my hand. It’s not going anywhere near my lips.

I don’t like the texture but to its credit, it does not dry my lips out. Do not expect your lips to look very plump though (you’ll need gloss for that to happen)

And yes, it took a lot of product for me to get that image up there.

It smells faintly like the scented erasers I used to buy growing up but is tasteless.

The package also claimed that this lipstick will work well when layered but I beg to differ.

Here it is layered under my Shu Uemura gold gloss and honestly, for me, while it looks fine from afar, it’s not attractive up close.

The lip colour travelled with my gloss wand.

If you don’t exfoliate your lips on a regular basis, steer clear of this lipstick. Its creamy texture makes it catch on dead skin.

If you have lips that have deep lines, I don’t recommend this at all.

I don’t think I’m going to ever rebuy OTL

One last note:
The effects of lipsticks on lips varies from person to person and skin tone to skin tone.

Before you decide to buy any lip product, it would be a good idea to physically swatch the product and get a feel of the texture, scent and colour.

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Miwitch said, on May 14, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Woot! Thanks for the review! I been looking at it for sometime, wanted to buy but the colors are very pale for me, so I gave it a second thought.. Now I guess I won’t buy it after reading you review cause I have alot deadskin on my lips.. =_=” hahax~

    • Jae said, on May 15, 2011 at 10:56 am

      Hey Miwitch~~~
      Hahaha, trust me, I don’t know what to do with my tube now XDDD
      I’m glad I could help you dearie~~~

  2. sundrenched said, on May 14, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Thanks for the review! I was lemming for it at watsons the other day since the packaging is so pretty and the cut out with the model was so calling my name, but I think this brand is more famous for mascara/eyeliner right? I recall seeing the mascara or eyeliner before…

    Btw are you going for the watsons member sale? I can’t make it cos I’ll be in Malaysia but I really want to go!!! Urgh dollywink :((

    • Jae said, on May 15, 2011 at 11:13 am

      HEY SUNDRENCHED!!!
      😀 Hehehe, yup! Kiss Me Heroine’s the brand for very raved about mascaras… Their length mascara’s on the cosme’s #1 list! :3

      And T.T I don’t know if I should??? They havent sent info about the brands that will be participating and that’s just terrible… I haven’t made up my mind about whether I should head down… hmm…

      • sundrenched said, on May 15, 2011 at 3:12 pm

        Eh this brand is under Kiss me heroine? I thought that one has the 80’s shoujo character on the cover? This one has a real life model right?

        Hahaha that’s true, I was quite excited cos this is my first member’s sale that Í’m aware of, but then my sis told me that she doesn’t want to go in my place, and fight with all the aunties over cotton pads (!?!)

      • Jae said, on May 17, 2011 at 12:46 pm

        SUNDRENCHED!
        hahaha, so sorry for the late reply babe!
        And -nodding- yupppp, it is!

        HAHAHAHA! OMG! Yeah! I gave the previous sale a miss cause I was lazy to go down but my friend mentioned that it was TERRIBLE because everyone was rushing for stuff and there was a lot of shoving… I’m a little anxious about the sale now :3

  3. jodie said, on May 15, 2011 at 2:46 am

    Aw, it looks really pretty though..
    and guess what jae!!!
    I HAVE AN EXCHANGE PROGRAMME TO JAPAN NEXT YEAR!!!
    Only barrier is my worrying parents. not gonna blame them since they worry for me but >< !!!!!

    • Jae said, on May 15, 2011 at 11:14 am

      JODIE BABY!
      Hahaha, I know right…

      And OMG YOU LUCKY CHICK! CONVINCE THEM IT’S A ONCE IN A LIFETIME OPPORTUNITY!!!

      • jodie said, on May 15, 2011 at 2:46 pm

        !!

        AND YESSSSSSSSSSS IM TRYING TOOOOO
        They are half-convinced meh..
        i’m sure it’ll work out =)

      • Jae said, on May 17, 2011 at 12:51 pm

        YES IT WILL!
        And you shall be surrounded by pretty makeup and girls!!!!

  4. Serene said, on May 15, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    wow your review came timely.I was very tempted to get it the last time I told you about it but procrastinated >_<

    • Jae said, on May 17, 2011 at 12:53 pm

      Hey serene!
      😀 Hope it helped!!!! Hehehe!

  5. sugar sugar said, on May 15, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    jae mac’s creme de cup also dries out my lips. >.< is the formula more drying? :/

    • Jae said, on May 17, 2011 at 12:52 pm

      Hey sugar dear!!!
      -nodding- Mac’s lipsticks are actually all very drying… T_T
      I’ve heard other girls complain about having to moisturize like crazy after removing MAC’s lippies… -same complaint here- Meh!


Leave a Reply

