Jae's Blog

Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Embryolisse by Jae on June 7, 2011

You read that right!

It’s all about Embryolisse’s Lait-Creme Concentre today!

Yup, the one that’s been on POPTEEN 😀

Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre’s shown up on POPTEEN many times over the past few years, more recently however, it’s been the staple of my favourite model, Mizukitty.

She uses it as a moisturizer after her Avene Thermal Spray.

Now, this retails for 46 SGD and comes with 75ML worth of product in an aluminium tube.

It touts itself as a cream that’s suitable for all skin types and is said to be a staple for many makeup artists around the world as both a moisturizer and a primer.

It’s been hyped to death by many girls in the Western world and is said to not contain any “unnatural” ingredients, making it great even for sensitive skin.

See here that the ingredients include shea butter, beeswax, aloe vera and soy proteins, so should you be allergic to soy products, do steer clear of this. 🙂

And the company is also against animal testing, which is commendable.

Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre is made in France under Embryolisse (duh) and belongs to the “Essential” skin care line. The company also makes anti-aging creams and cleansers and toners as well.

Now, the fact that it comes in a giant aluminium tube doesn’t bother me in the slightest but the fact that it’s so easily bent does.

When I first opened the box to get at the tube, the tube was already bent, so when I unscrewed the top, some of the cream was dispensed. Wastage just isn’t my thing.

And the consistency of the cream is very runny so without having to really squeeze the tube, prop it upright and the cream will just flow out of the spout.

About the amount shown in my picture above is sufficient to cover my entire face, making it quite economical.

Make sure you massage it in really well because it may leave a slight white cast over areas not blended.

I have to say, it’s brilliant as a hand cream but doesn’t work as a face moisturizer for me.

As a hand cream, it leaves my hands feeling luxuriously smooth and plump, almost like baby’s skin but on the face… Well.

The (extremelystrong jasmine scent fades after five minutes but the half an hour it takes to fully sink in kicks it to the bottom of my list of fav face moisturizers.

My face was left feeling slightly greasy for the entire day (I had to blot twice – no makeup to test the effectiveness of the product by itself) and even with temperatures around 27 degrees celsius in Singapore and me chauffeured around for most of the day, it wasn’t any better.

Although I only started using this last Saturday night, I’ve developed a large pimple (that I swear was not that the day before yesterday) on my forehead, dryness by my nose (flaking right now) and on my chin (with bumps) and dry unevenness on my cheeks with red splotches showing irritation. It’s terrible for me right now.

Keep in mind though that I have naturally hyper sensitive, combination skin that is prone to dryness around the nose, chin and cheeks area. I will get very large reactions to products that my skin does not like and it’s just unfortunate that this was the case with Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre.

It’s meant to leave a satin film sort of finish but it most certainly did not for me.

I personally am not going to repurchase but will definitely be using my tube as a moisturizer for my hands and feet. 🙂

Hope this helps you darling!

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sundrenched said, on June 7, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Oh man jae 😦 sucks when HG products for many gals just don’t work on you, isn’t it?

    Plus it’s so overpriced! In europe is like 11 euros, asking my cousin to grab one for me 😀

    Btw heard mizukitty is having a collaboration with eyemazing for lashes! Are u gonna get/review them?

  2. SeReNe said, on June 7, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    Hey Jae,

    It’s been a while since my last comment but a very Happy Belated Birthday to you! =D

    I noticed that paraffinum liquidium (a form of mineral oil) is one of the main ingredients for this cream and it might be reason why your skin is reacting badly to it. Personally I have very sensitive and reactive skin and all forms of mineral oil and lanolin makes my facial skin break out and/or react very badly.

    I hope this helps in one way or another! =)

    • Jae said, on June 10, 2011 at 10:36 am

      Hey Serene!!!!
      😀 -nodding- It may just be the cause of it.. Hmm… Might stay away from that… It’s terrible for me!
      Thanks so much for the tip dearie!

  3. sugar sugar said, on June 8, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    too bad this didn’t work for your face dear. :/ will have to pass up on this since i have very oily skin. >.<

    • Jae said, on June 10, 2011 at 10:43 am

      -nodding- I was really hoping it would but meh…. T_T
      -hugs- your trip to the beach looked AWESOME by the way!!!

  4. vicky said, on July 28, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Hi! May know where you bought this product? I’m also based in Singapore 🙂

  5. clovegal said, on August 10, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Thanks for your review. Where can I get the cream from in Singapore?

  6. Kris Ong said, on August 17, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    Hi, Where can you get this in Singapore? Thanks

    • Jae said, on August 29, 2011 at 9:21 am

      Hey Kris!
      You can purchase it from Parco at Millenia Walk~~

  7. Alysha said, on August 24, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    Hi, i was just wondering where in Singapore you purchased this from? Thanks for the review! I just recently moved here and i’ve ran out and have no idea where i can get it from 😦

    • Jae said, on August 29, 2011 at 9:20 am

      Hey there!
      You can purchase it from Parco at Millenia Walk! 😀

  8. gxl said, on May 1, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    hi there can i check which store at parco did u purchase this from?

    • Jae said, on May 2, 2012 at 12:13 am

      Hey gxl,
      🙂 Welcome to smashedmakeupbag~ I bought this from a standalone counter at the first lvl! 🙂
      It’s under the escalators, if I’m not mistaken! Hope this helps!


Leave a Reply

