Jae's Blog

[[ADV]] Murad Hybrids Skin Perfecting Primer (MATT) [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Murad by Jae on June 10, 2011

I was invited to their launch party some time last month and was very impressed by the amount of effort they put into the entire event. It was held at Marina Mandarin and the ambience of the event space was just fabulous.

The blog post is super late (I know, I know, I just wanted to make sure I’d really tried it out before telling you about it) so without further ado, I present to you, Murad’s Hybrids Skin Perfecting Primer (MATT).

*** Products used in this review were sponsored by Murad Inc. but do not affect the integrity of my work. For more info, pls feel free to email me at smashedmakeupbag@gmail.com ***

Now Murad is a US based company that specializes in skin care and this is the first time that the company has come up with anything for the cosmetics world.

Murad’s Hybrids Skin Perfecting Primer (MATT) retails for 59 SGD and comes with 30ML worth of product, which roughly works out to be about 2SGD per ML.

It is made in the US and I am happy to report that the company does not test on animals. ❤ +1 brownie point.

It comes in a pump bottle.

Which dispenses a generous amount of product at every time, so I would highly recommend going easy on how much you press down.

Directions:
Use after moisturizing, under or in place of foundation.

As you know, I have extremely sensitive skin that will react to pretty much anything and everything but I didn’t get a reaction to Murad’s new primer.

  • The company claims the product features Adaptive Shade Technology to “create a perfect skin tone match” 


    While it matched my skin tone pretty well, I cannot guarantee that it would every other skin tone. For reference, I’m an NC30 and an RMK 102.

  • The company claims the product features Pore Factor-5, aiming to minimize pores as it balances oil production.
    The pores on and around my nose were not concealed, but then again,my pores are actually quite large. 
  • The company claims it can be used in place of foundation. 

    liked the texture of the product because it was super light

    and a nice break from liquid foundation, however, it didn’t quite deliver in the coverage department. Quite honestly, I think nothing can be used in place of liquid foundation ^^||

    I also think it’ll be wise to blend the primer in very gently because it’ll cake when you get to the edges.Also, I found that it would drag when under my normal liquid foundation.

  • The company claims the primer is good for disguising flaws while evening out skin texture and tone.
    While it worked moderately well for me in between, it didn’t quite work in the week leading up to my period (read: incredibly dry skin around cheek and nose area, with peeling and redness around nose crevices). It didn’t even out the redness around my nose nor cover up the darker spots on my chin either.
  • The company claims the matt formula “creates a delicate powder finish that is shine-free”
    While it provided a decent base for loose powder, it did nothing for oil control. This is not to say, however, that it made my skin feel like an oil slick but it just didn’t make my face look matt, which, in our weather, is predictable.

So there you have it!

PS: After using it for about two weeks, no breakouts or reactions but I’ll be going back to my original RMK base and liquid foundation. 🙂

PPS: There are Murad counters at BHG Bugis, Paragon and Sephora, in case you’re interested

Triple PS: Their facebook page is right HERE!

*** Products used in this review were sponsored by Murad Inc. but do not affect the integrity of my work. For more info, pls feel free to email me at smashedmakeupbag@gmail.com ***

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sugar sugar said, on June 10, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    i think i’ll check this out jae but i’m not too keen on the flakes haha!

    • Jae said, on June 11, 2011 at 5:13 pm

      HEY SUGAR!
      -nodding- do do! hehe!

  2. sundrenched said, on June 11, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Hmmm I’ve heard pretty good things about murad’s primer online… But they all live in cool climates and this is sunny Singapore! Outdoors – heat and sweat = shine, indoors – aircon dries up the skin and makes it produce more oil = flaking skin and/or shine. Recently I have been getting peeling skin and shiny t-zone 😦 prob what I dislike the most about this country, the climate, which kills the skin. Like so many east Asians have really good skin and I firmly believe it’s all due to climate!

    Btw jae, is a primer really important? And will you be sharing with us your daily/HG makeup products? 😀

    • Jae said, on June 11, 2011 at 5:21 pm

      SUNDRENCHED!
      -nodding- definitely dear, a lot of things are tested in temperate countries T_T so we asian girls have to test things out for ourselves here. MEH!

      And -nodding- it’s the sudden change in weather right dearie?! I think the Japanese girls have it great over there T_T

      And well, it definitely is for me dearie! I use a base all the time (XDD Base and primer are the same thing to me XDD) and because it’s just protection XDDD. It creates a barrier between our skin and our foundation!

      And heh heh, I’ve got a video on my daily makeup up darling!!! Check that one out yeah!


Leave a Reply

