Jae's Blog

Guardian’s Isopropyl Alcohol [[HOW TO]]

Posted in Guardian by Jae on June 12, 2011

Nope, your eyes are not playing tricks on you. I’m posting about something not related to makeup today. Only because it’s completely fabulous. Believe me.

It’s all about Guardian’s Isopropyl Alcohol!

I love my MacBook. I really do. And I use it more than I use… Umm. Hmm. Let’s not go there.

So I recently realized that my beloved has become less than clean and using my eraser (my usual routine) isn’t helping to remove the stains on my keyboard.

Having recently (well, about two months ago) purchased isopropyl alcohol for removing my doll’s faceup (it’s made of resin) and for cleaning the nose bridge on my glasses, I figured it might work on my laptop too.

** My bottle’s from Guardian, a local pharmacy but you will probably be able to find this at any drugstore 🙂 **

Okay, check out the area marked a. That is ONE drop of isopropyl alcohol on my keyboard, see the epic difference?

Notice also that the keys are almost yellowish? @_@ It’s because of the natural oils from my hands getting onto the keys and accumulating over time.

PS: I’m not proud of how grimy it looks.

You’ll need some cotton pads, Q-tips and/or some paper towels or tissues (whatever you choose, you’ll just have to make sure that you’re fine with it getting dirty).

Just a little bit is enough to clean quite a large area.

No, really.

a: What I cleaned
b: The original grime.

It’s quite amazing and I’m actually quite ashamed to say that my laptop has been neglected for too long. I bought this mac back in 2009 and it’s been left as is for all this time.

The best part of it all is that you don’t have to use a lot of force. Gentle swipes in a circular motion will do.

And yes, to clean in between the keys, simply fold the cotton pad in half and slide it between the keys! If you want to reach between crevices, use a Q-tip 🙂

TIP: Avoid breathing in the fumes!!!!

Right now, it looks as good as new and I’m only too happy to keep up with this routine.

I’m also happy to report that this works on cables too.

This was my iPhone cable – I hadn’t cleaned it for years.

All it took was three minutes of my time.

And some effort (cleaning my cable was relatively more difficult as compared to cleaning my keyboard… I had to use more force), to get a good result.

I’m not even going to mark the area because the difference is so distinct, it’s impossible to miss.

Check out the difference 🙂

My cable looks like it’s been bleached or something.

I solemnly promise to never let my keyboard look anything like it did before yesterday, every again.

Psst: Time for us to all clean our keyboards now :3

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bones said, on June 12, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    awesomeeeeee…

    i didn’t know it’ll work out to be this good!
    alrighty, i gotta so grab a botlenext time i’m near guardian. otta clear my keyboard too…
    you left yours the way it was since 2009, mine’s since 2008. yikes!

    • Jae said, on June 16, 2011 at 4:28 pm

      bonesssss. Hahahhaha, SO DID YOU CLEAN YOUR KEYBOARD?!

      • bones said, on June 16, 2011 at 8:26 pm

        nope, not yet.
        i should get to it huh… LOL!

      • Jae said, on June 17, 2011 at 8:17 am

        XDDDD Totally babe. Trust me, you won’t regret it. XDDD

  2. Charmaine said, on June 12, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    LOL, you can at the same time disinfect your laptop.

    • Jae said, on June 16, 2011 at 4:33 pm

      XDDD Yes indeed Charmaine! Amen for that. :3

  3. jodie said, on June 12, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    OMGHAHA WIN!! good job x)

    • Jae said, on June 16, 2011 at 7:01 pm

      HURHURHUR I KNOW RIGHT. XDDD
      So dirty can?!

  4. shutakky said, on June 13, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    Great!!! I cn let my SIS know Abt it too.. macbook gt e tendency to turn yellow black than mbp hehe. BTW it helps to use this to clean cables n glasses which part?;3 I NID GET IT THEN!

    • Jae said, on June 16, 2011 at 7:03 pm

      Hey shutakky!!!
      hehe, sure thing! And it also clean the nose bridge area of our glasses babe! 😀

  5. Huijuan said, on June 16, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    how much isit? 🙂

    • Jae said, on June 16, 2011 at 7:04 pm

      Hey Huijuan!
      Alamak, I don’t actually remember the price leh.. But i do believe it was under 5 bucks!


Leave a Reply

