Jae's Blog

[[ADV: Event]] K-Palette – Eyes on You workshop + K-Palette Lasting 2 Way Eyebrow Liner

Posted in K Palette by Jae on July 18, 2011

So I’ve been attending events all month but haven’t quite had the time to update this place in a while. -bowbowbow-

By your request, I’ll be reporting on the events I’ve been invited to before moving on to magazine scans and first up is the K-Palette blogger event held on 10 July~

*** The event was sponsored by The Sample Store but will not affect the integrity of my work. For more info, pls feel free to email me at smashedmakeupbag@gmail.com ***

Warning:
This is a super sized post. It includes:
1) The event update
2) Food review
3) Mini product review

Let me first start off by saying that the location of the event couldn’t have been better.

Held on the second floor of Fika Swedish Cafe down Arab Street, the event was cosy and utterly delightful.

Jointly organized by The Sample StoreJapalang.com and Canon, the organizers kept it simple with the decor but was generous with the gift bags. And I do mean generous.

Yes, that’s a total of around ten items in every bag including their recently launched K-Palette 24H Real Lasting Eyebrow Liner that I will give a quick rundown of later in this post.

The even custom made marshmallows for attendees and flew two Japanese makeup artists down to Singapore to conduct our mini workshop! :3

Meet Mariko-san, who demonstrated the basics to a cute vs cool look on the model and suggested that girls who don’t want to use false bottom lashes use eyeliner to draw on lashes.

Jae’s Note:
I personally would advise caution
when doing this, especially when your eyeliner belongs to the jet black family.

If your eyeliner’s intensity is similar to that of the K-Palette liners then it might work but if you, like me, use Dolly Wink, then it may border on looking completely unnatural so do work with a light hand and exercise discretion should you wish to try this method out.

Yes, the turnout was quite large that day. Hang in there cause I’ve got one more shot that shows what it’s like to be a model at a blogger’s event.

-laughing- Poor girl.

Now let me start raving about the food.

=======================================================

It’s not usually my practice to talk about anything other than beauty on this blog but there’s one dish I have to introduce to you so I might as well just show you everything we had.:

We started the meal off with a cream of mushroom soup that had notes of mutton that I (and a number of other bloggers) found difficult to bear.

The garlic bread with herbs that was served along side was really yummy but I wouldn’t recommend the soup if you don’t like the taste of mutton.

Rosemary Chicken with a side of parsely potatoes that I found brilliant. The chicken was tender and grilled to perfection. You know how some places cook their chicken so much that the fillet ends up tough as rubber? Nothing like that here, the skin was slightly crispy at the edges but the meat was juicy and together with their creamy black pepper sauce? Oh-so-yummy.

And finally, the must-try of Fika Cafe.

Their bread and butter pudding.

Warm, moist and not overpoweringly sweet, the dessert was generously dotted with raisins that provided a pleasant juicy burst of freshness with every bite.

Comfort food at it’s fineness, it was just the right size to provide a satisfying end to what was an already gorgeous meal.

I normally hate bread and butter pudding but topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, this is the last dessert I’d like to have before I go to heaven.

====================================================

And yes, I did say I’d touch on this product briefly. 😀

Now, the K-Palette Lasting 2 Way Eyebrow Liner is a very new concept to me, seeing that the only product I ever use on my brows is my KATE eyebrow mascara (that hasn’t been touched in a while).

It comes in two colours, Chocolate Brown (01) and Honey Brown (02), meant for tanner and fairer skin tones respectively, though I would suggest matching it more to your hair colour rather than your skin tone.

Each pen has two usable ends, namely, the liquid:

And powder end:

The liquid end is meant to outline your brow while the powder is supposed to help fill it in.

I don’t know about you, but I’m very careful with the powder end because of the way product collects on sponge applicator. It could lead to possible fallout during application so I usually tap it lightly at the back of my hand before using it.

I have to say though, that I personally find it a little difficult to control the amount that the applicator deposits on my brows. More practice is in order.

The product dispensed from the liquid side may look very light upon first application but go easy on it because it’ll darken later on. It’s really strange, I know.

The product is also meant to give brows a more 3D look, for what reason, I’m not too sure but the glitter particles that are deposited by the powder applicator are supposed to help do the job.

They aren’t all that large though, so no worries about looking like someone dumped a ton of glitter on your brows there but while the liquid stays put, the powder does have a tendency to rub off and become a lot lighter.

If you perspire a lot, it might be a good idea to use an eyebrow setter (brush on gel from Daiso) or just plain bring this pen out along with you and touch up during the day.

This, of course, is just a preliminary review of the product right before I run off to work (again) so there won’t be a rating just yet till I’ve had the chance to properly give it a go.

I’ll be back with more asap so stay tuned, my loves! -hugs- Thank you so much for your patience with me!

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jodie said, on July 18, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    yay ❤ ❤
    welcome back! hope you're not too busy with work~
    i'm in sg now 😀 till 26th

    • Jae said, on July 20, 2011 at 11:15 am

      JODIE BABY!
      OMG I’VE GOT NO DAYS OFF TILL THE END OF THE MONTH LA!. OTL
      I’ll see how I can schedule out watsons outing okay?!?!?!

  2. candycarrousel said, on July 18, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Jae!! (:
    missed you posts ):
    yayzers so glad you’re back 😀 😀 😀
    heh hoping to see more soon, when you’re not too busy~
    ^_^

    • Jae said, on July 20, 2011 at 11:13 am

      HEY CANDYCARROUSEL!!!
      -grinning- ahhhh, thank you so much darling… I’ll definitely try my best to update more okay?! thank you for your support!!!

  3. sugar sugar said, on July 19, 2011 at 2:14 am

    jaeee!!! get back to blogging! i miss your reviews very much. 🙂
    i hope you’re doing well. love, love the 2nd picture! ❤

    • Jae said, on July 20, 2011 at 11:14 am

      HAHAHAHA, HEY SUGARRRRRRRRR!!!
      T_T I wish I could do some more full length reviews, hun! Darn work! I’ve got to find a way to strike a balance between the two!
      Thank you ever so much, sweetheart! -sending hugs and love-

  4. Sylvia said, on July 19, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    WELCOME BACK! I missed your posts! 😦

    • Jae said, on July 20, 2011 at 11:11 am

      -hugs- HEY SYLVIA.
      Hahaha, thank you so so much dearie!!!


Leave a Reply

