Jae's Blog

[[ADV]] Bio Essence Celebrity’s Choice Inchloss Body Cream (Extra Strength)

Posted in bio essence by Jae on August 4, 2011

So The Sample Store sent me trial versions of the Bio Essence Celebrity’s Choice Inch Loss products.

-pauses-

I’m happy with my weight and shape but I have some areas I’d like work done on, so I decided to give the stuff a shot. Needless to say, I didn’t quite work out for me.

I quote the package.

“Bio-Essence Celebrity’s Choice Inchloss Shower Scrub and Body Cream Extra Strength Trial Kit extra strength formula with 2X more firming ingredients with INCREASED heat sensation to firm skin and burn fats faster”.

Bio Essence touts this range as a quick and easy way to losing half an inch (that’s 1.27cm for you metric system kids) in seven days.

A quick rundown here, the product apparently contains:

1) Bio mineral amino acid essence (I don’t know which on ingredients list)
That is supposedly “rich in proteins, amino acids, enzymes and various vitamins to provide effective nourishment to skin cells and promote the firming process”.
I have no idea what bio mineral means here because my mind goes immediately to crustaceans thanks to bio lessons.

2) Capsicum (fourth on ingredients list)
That’s “a stimulating ingredient that helps refine body contours”.
To my knowledge, capsicum is ingested for indigestion and only applied topically to help with spasms, shingles and nerve damage in HIV and diabetic patients, so capsicum to “refine body contours” is a completely new concept to me.

3) Ginger (third on ingredients list)
To “promote the firming process to achieve a slimmer silhouette”
I can understand ginger as an oral supplement to slim down but to be applied… I’ve heard of it being used as a stimulant to promote circulation (Chanel) I’m not sure about it working well on slimming when applied on the skin though.

4) Ginseng (tenth on ingredients list)
“A well-known health tonic works to strengthen and revitalize the skin, and tighten body contours”
-throws hand up- Ginseng. I wouldn’t take it in soup and I don’t use it on my face personally.

5) Pineapple essence (ninth on ingredients list)
“Helps to promote skin elasticity and moisturizes skin”
I’m not sure about the English here but that aside,  pineapple essence. Now, you and I both know for a fact that pineapples contain what we put in meat tenderizers, bromelain… It’s also supposed to be good for exfoliating. I suppose they’re trying to apply the same concept but I’m not sure how it’s supposed to moisturize.

6) Caffeine (twenty-sixth on ingredients list)
“Is a natural thermogenic ingredient which speeds up the process to achieve a smooth and slender body”
I’ve seen studies on caffeine and weight loss but most of the studies were conducted with ingested caffeine.

Now, on to the product proper.

My sample squeeze tube came with 20g worth of product but really, I didn’t need more.

The product is white and has a rather thick consistency.

It smelt like cough syrup at first but it gradually faded to a gentle strawberry scent which was pleasant enough but now for my main point.

We’re supposed to massage the cream into our skin in circular motions for a few minutes but after about one to two minutes, this was what I got.

Pardon the unglam picture but I don’t know how else to show you how bad it was for me.

I proceeded to wash it off right away because I’m not about to leave something that irritates my skin on for too long.

I understand that some ladies online have said that the itching is normal because it’s “circulation being promoted” but come on, girls, really? Some have suggested wiping the area or even washing it off but I honestly do not see how a slimming product that’s supposed to work by heating skin to “burn fats faster” is supposed to work at all when it’s been washed/wiped off .

I’m not about to go out and purchase the retail version. 🙂

==================================================

I firmly believe in the healthy diet, healthy lifestyle way (see your doctor/dietician for advice on this) but I understand that that may not work for everyone.

So while I’m not actively encouraging everyone and anyone in the world to go for surgery, I won’t judge if anyone does as a last resort because these methods are the only things that would work for some people (not all but there are people who are genetically programmed this way and others who have tried everything and it’s not our place to judge), there isn’t an easy way to everything and weight loss is just one of those things that we have to work/pay for one way or another.

And really, for the rest of us who aren’t bothered about our weight, hey, enjoy life, enjoy your time and have fun in everything you do cause really, my loves, stay healthy and most importantly, stay happy because that’s something that no product can ever give you. ♡

 

 

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. berries said, on August 5, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    jaeeeeee~ 😀 it’s been so long T_T
    wise words at the end too :3
    hope you’re not too busy~

  2. sukipooki said, on August 7, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    I loved reading this post, I think it touches a very sensitive topic and you covered it fairly well! I hope your tummy gets better though =( I agree, how is a lotion etc, suppose to work if you wash it off?!

    • Jae said, on August 29, 2011 at 9:24 am

      -grinning- I’m glad you liked it sukipooki! -hugs- And thank you so much, dear… It’s a lot better now!

  3. Rachel said, on August 11, 2011 at 5:06 am

    Jae, your stomach is so flat! Super envious hahah. Caffeine has actually been proven to reduce cellulite when applied on the skin. I still don’t believe in those slimming creams though. Like you said, the best way to keep in shape is through a healthy diet and lifestyle, not some crappy slimming cream with weird ingredients! Need to massage in the stupid cream some more, might as well just go out exercise right -.-

  4. Elise said, on September 11, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Hi jae!
    Do you mind doing a makeup tutorial,products you used for Asian eyes with mono lids? I find it very hard to do makeup because I use pencil eyeliner and I often have to draw a lot of it! If I draw near to the lashline the liner can’t even be seen -.- please teach me how to do a smoky eye! Idk all the mambo Jambo abt eyeshadow types 😦

    • Jae said, on September 13, 2011 at 8:54 pm

      Hey Elise!
      Unfortunately I’ve got double lids so I might not be of much help, but there are tutorials on youtube for girls with monolids!
      An easy-to-follow one that I found is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1EQCa-bNVOE 😀 Hope this helps you, darling!

  5. Daisy said, on September 13, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    What happen to you? Used to frequent your blog but not much update 😥

    • Jae said, on September 13, 2011 at 8:51 pm

      Hey Daisy!
      Well I’ve been quite caught up with work recently… But since I’ve got net connection right now, I’ll pretty much be back to blogging! ♡
      Thank you so much for your patience with me darling!

  6. luyiiv said, on March 20, 2012 at 9:21 am

    but will be some painful n very hot

  7. luyiiv said, on March 20, 2012 at 9:22 am

    acuallty how is the rite way to apply ?? tell me thanks

    • Jae said, on April 29, 2012 at 2:12 am

      Hey dearie!
      I actually stopped using the product after developing my allergic reaction to it so I can’t quite be of help here… So sorry about that…


Leave a Reply

