Jae's Blog

Toujours No.1 フレッシュライム [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Toujours by Jae on May 1, 2012

So I was in Taiwan last year for a little bit of shopping.

If you’re one for makeup, clothes and food all for cheap? Taiwan (Taipei) is definitely for you. I know I absolutely adored the city and would very gladly go back there again anytime.

Anyway, here’s my next review just for you, we’re talking about Toujours No.1 フレッシュライム today!

First released last year, Toujours No.1 フレッシュライム is one of three lash designs in the series.

Designed by POPTEEN model, Marimo, the lashes retail for 1260 yen per box (365 TWD).

I chose No.1 because I thought they would look the most natural but boy, was I wrong.

I bought mine from a little store near to 西門町 (xi1 men2 ding1) that only accepted cash. Another tip for you, if you plan to travel to Taipei, try to carry more cash because a number of street side stores do not accept credit cards.

But I digress.

Every tray comes with three pairs of lashes.

Most of the volume is concentrated near the base of the lashes but to my disappointment, it didn’t quite show through.

The lash bone is clear and soft.

It measures a whopping 3.4cm, way too long for my own eyes so I might consider revisiting these after cutting them up.

If you like to tilt lashes down to form ‘Ranzuki’ eyes though, these might work well for you.

The fibres are soft and lack the plasticky sheen often seen in denser lashes. They’re also very well-curled (and hold their curl well) so these would be good for you if you don’t want to spend time curling your falsies often.

The longest part of the fibres measures 1.3cm – way too long for my personal liking.

I also found the appearance they gave my eyes too wispy and spidery.

♡♡♡ Toujours No.1 フレッシュライム ♡♡♡
✔ Length: 10/10 [Way too long]
✔ Volume: 6.5/10 [Decent volume, but don’t expect much at the tips]
✔ Ease of application: Relatively easy but the length of the spine might prove a problem. Trimming might be required so have a pair of scissors on hand if you plan to try these out.
✔ Reusable? Yes, but I’m going to have to reshape the spine even though I’ve only ever used it once. -not pleased-
✔ Economical? Hmm… I would suppose, but considering the work that would have to go into reshaping and cutting… Not really.

Verdict:
I personally did not like the lashes very much because of how long they are. I do suppose they might work well if you’re after a more natural, long lashed look.

Definitely not suitable for girls who wear glasses.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. priincess said, on May 1, 2012 at 8:37 am

    These are so PRETTY! I want a set! 😀

    • Jae said, on May 1, 2012 at 9:09 am

      Hi prlincess!
      Thank you for stopping by smashedmakeupbag~ Haha, I’m really glad you like these!
      Really hope to see you around SMUB again soon! 😀

  2. Sylvia said, on May 1, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    I dont like those really long lashes too 😦 I bought the Dollywink otona range but I was disappointed /sob sob/ :<

    • Jae said, on May 2, 2012 at 12:15 am

      -nodding- Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear that, dear… Which design did you get? >_<

      • Sylvia said, on May 7, 2012 at 11:20 pm

        I got the Cat Eyes one… Idek. I absolutely hate lashes that are long. Like I can’t even stand a little length /sob 😦 Perhaps its just me! XD.

      • Jae said, on May 8, 2012 at 2:03 pm

        SYLVIA DEARRRRR~~~
        Yish, we’re in the same boat then, babe… Haha, I can’t help but feel like I’ve got feathers on my eyes when I have overly long lashes on!
        Yuck!

  3. Naomi said, on May 1, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    JAE I MISSED YOU 😥

    • Jae said, on May 2, 2012 at 12:12 am

      😀 MISSED YOU TOO NAOMI! Welcome back dearie!!!

  4. Chiro said, on May 3, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    Thanks for coming back~ ヾ(*・ω・)ノ

    • Jae said, on May 3, 2012 at 12:48 pm

      Hey Chiro!
      Omg dear, no no, thank you for coming back here to read my reviews! -hugs- Thank you dearie!

  5. berries said, on May 5, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    jaee! welcome back! I was worried for a sec there 😛
    marimo was my first favourite popteen model!~ so i was kinda curious about toujours when she released them.
    thanks for the review! they look a lot different when marimo wears them ._. but probably because i love her so much, i’ll check them out xD
    btw! did you know popteen tv is on youtube now? popteen has really changed in the last year!
    *yayyy jae’s back ( ^-^)ノ∠※PON!。.:*:・’°☆。.:*:・’°★°’・:*

    • Jae said, on May 9, 2012 at 12:46 pm

      HEY §TRAWBERRICA!!!! :333
      Haha, I know right! She makes everything she wears look so good T___T
      😀 POPTEENTV RIGHT?!?! >_< I found this video really really sad… Marimo’s in it too…
      Which do you prefer me to address you by, by the way, dear? §trawberrica or berries? :3


Leave a Reply

