Jae's Blog

Maybelline Jelly Glow Blush (04 – Sweet Momo) [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Maybelline by Jae on May 3, 2012

So far, I’ve done lashes and lip products sooooo we’re changing things up and looking at a cheek product today!

Yes, we’re talking about the latest Maybelline Jelly Glow Blush in 04 – Sweet Momo~

Spotted on the pages of May’s Ranzuki, Maybelline’s got a brand new line of six cream blushes.

So I went out and, against my better judgement, got myself one.

Packaged in a re-sealable plastic bag, the blush retails for 15.90SGD at Watsons and BHG.

I bought mine from Watsons at Bugis Junction and also saw a bunch of these at BHG Bugis too~

And if you’re interested, it’s made in Korea! 😀

The actual product comes in a round, plastic dome that is absolutely tiny.

The plastic label at the back of the resealable packaging states the weight of the product to be 13.4g but I question this. Umm.

It’s a snap closure case but I cannot say for certain if this is sufficient to keep the cream blush moist for a prolonged period of time. So make sure you remember to close the case asap.

The ads claim that it’s water-resistant and that it lasts up to 6 hours but all that aside, application itself was quite off-putting.

Using my fingers meant it was slightly streaky and I had to blend a lot.

Tried using a stippling brush and failed too.

The shape of the blush also became very out of shape after being touched by my fingers so many times (I’ll explain more later).

Some might also find it unhygienic :3

Applied on my NC30 skin, the blush is a warm, shimmery pinky-peach (more pink than peachy) blush that is rather sheer.

It’s a double-edged sword in this case.

The blush is buildable but not suitable if you are short on application time. I spent a while in front of my mirror stepping forward and back, afraid I’d piled on too much in my desperation to have some form of colour on my cheeks.

I do think this would probably work well for girls who are a lot fairer! T_T

The shimmer particles are not too obvious unless hit with strong lighting at a close range.

The texture of the blush on skin turned from creamy to powdery which was quite interesting for me.

Will it last for 6 hours?
I barely noticed it on my skin cause it’s so sheer. My blushes rarely fade off because of my makeup base (RMK for the win) and the lack of perspiration (thank god for good weather), so under ideal conditions, this claim is plausible.

Is it waterproof?
Rather. After swatching the blush, I ran my hand under a tap for a while and nothing came off, so it passed that test.

But all in all, I personally found that it was for me, extra work for average payoff.

PS: Would you like to see some Ranzuki scans? :3

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chiro said, on May 3, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    Ohh…so a good makeup base doesn´t fade off your blush! (Sorry I´m new in all these make up thing)
    RMK… I´ve been looking for it, but it seems a little expensive~ Is it really worth it? >3<

    • Jae said, on May 3, 2012 at 12:49 pm

      Hi Chiro dear!
      Haha, yup! With a proper base and with good powder, your blush will be set for the day! 😀
      -nodding- It’s around 50+ per bottle but mine’s lasted me quite some time now… And yeah, it works super well for me… What skin type do you have?

  2. jodie said, on May 3, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    I’ve seen these in the stores here in japan and when i swatched the sample it was really nice! It was a pinker colour I tried though 😛
    Then I found it really cute but never knew if I should buy it! Hm! Me no liek shimma 😦 i liek it on mah clothez yo

    • Jae said, on May 5, 2012 at 9:05 pm

      JODIE JODIE JODIE~~~~
      Haha, awesome stuff darling! And hahahaha! BLING BLING CLOTHES FTW!

  3. Chiro said, on May 6, 2012 at 3:51 am

    Hi!~ And thanks for your answer~ I think I´m already a regular here~ ( ̄∇ ̄)
    I´ve a kind of mixed-sensitive skin (sometimes very troublesome) and I´ve never used a makeup base before, thought (´‐ω‐)

    • Jae said, on May 8, 2012 at 1:58 pm

      Hey Chiro!
      No worries and thank you so much for coming back, dearie~
      Hmm… I personally have combi-sensitive skin and so far, the base has worked pretty well for me… It might be a good idea to pop by the counter to ask for a sample sachet and do a patch test before you buy a full bottle? 😀 Try this out babe! Hope this helps!

  4. Chiro said, on May 24, 2012 at 10:44 am

    Thank you very much for your answer~ ^^ Unfortunately RMK isn´t sold in my country so I´ve ordered it online~ It seems to be a pretty good base, even models seem to wear it (>ω<*)


Leave a Reply

