Jae's Blog

Jae’s Voice: Urban (The Straits Times) (11 May)

Posted in Dolly Wink, Urban by Jae on May 11, 2012

I opened the papers today to this page and was utterly stunned at this page staring back at me.

I don’t even know where to begin.

Deviating from my usual reviews, I’m talking about Urban’s article, “The Barbie Brigade” (May 11, 2012) today.

For you who are not in Singapore, Urban is Singapore’s attempt to show Singaporeans (and alas, the world) that our papers can do more than report on train breakdowns.

But their so-called “latest beauty craze” has been around for a very long time. Since before this blog even started and this blog is going to be three this year (-throws confetti-).

This is very old news.

If you haven’t yet read the article, here are some images I took for you 🙂

Click to enlarge.

I think they were trying really hard to write a balanced article but I did feel an underlying current of disapproval from the writer herself.

Perhaps one might think that I’m being over-sensitive but I do feel that GAL style was misrepresented in this article.

The word “unreal”. There are different makeup styles and everyone is different, in the GAL circle, the latest trend is to be natural but perhaps Urban didn’t get the memo.

1) “… who are obsessed”
The word “obsessed” suggested negativity. Why not say “who transforms themselves to look like dolls and manga characters”?

2) “… ultra feminine look entails wigs or hair extensions, long lashes, plenty of eyeliner and…”
It’s interesting that they would say it’s ‘ultra-feminine’ because it’s not always so. The models from EGG and Ranzuki take on active styles.

The use of excessive eyeliner will only serve to make eyes look smaller so really… Umm.

3) “Their idol is…. Tsubasa Masuwaka…
Tsu-chan isn’t the only idol out there. There are many other models who may not be as big as Tsu-chan but who are good representatives and good role-models. Yes, I’m talking about your idols, dear.

My idol’s Yui Kanno (scans of her second book to be up soon).

a) “… can make one look more youthful and feminine…” “…warns against such obsessions”
Once again, it’s putting GAL is a bad light. GAL isn’t always about dressing young, we have had models from POPSISTER, for example, in their matured form.

b) “… send out “ambiguous messages” that pander to some men’s paedophilic fantasies…”
I personally feel it’s a rather male-supremacist remark. Does he mean to say that GAL makeup and dressing up is purely to “pander” to men?

The definition of “pander”.

Pander:
1. To provide gratification to other’s desires Merriam-Webster Dictionary
2. A person who furnishes clients for a prostitute or supplies persons for illicit sexual intercourse;  pimp – Dictionary .com
3. a person who caters to or profits from the weaknesses or vices of others -Dictionary.com

I know that when I dress up, it really is for myself. I’m not on the lookout for a partner or anything along those lines.

When I leave the house, I want to look my very best because I live everyday like my very last and it could be very well be my last day on earth. I don’t want to die looking like I just rolled out of bed.

c) “…. may have crossed the line… preening”
This part I have no issue with because spending beyond one’s means can indeed be destructive.

Except for the word “preening”. And their issue with plastic surgery. I firmly believe that what people choose to do with their own bodies is their choice and I have no issue with anyone who wants to go for plastic surgery.

====================================================

Now, if you plan to follow any of Urban’s advice to “looking dolly”, watch out for a few things.

i) “Use a black liquid eyeliner…..”
Like I said, the trend now is to look natural, so swop your black liners for a brown one. It will look softer and a lot more natural.

Whether or not to extend the line past your eye is your choice, I do that sometimes to help with falsies application but avoid it when I don’t plan to wear false lashes because it makes my eye makeup look very unnatural.

ii) “Glue on the upper lash without trimming the ends….”
If the lashes are too long, you know what I always do – I cut. Make sure that you trim the lash band down to a length that you can manage because that’s the most important thing.

i) “… foundation in a shade or two lighter than your original skin…”
I always suggest finding foundation that matches your natural skin tone.

If a foundation is not your skin tone, you’ll have to waste time applying it down to your neck. Having said that, you may want to mix your foundations so that you can get a half tone lighter (if you reallyyyyyy want to have lighter skin). It’s really up to the individual.

1) “… lower lash about 2mm below your natural bottom lash line…”
I understand that some girls do this to enlarge their eyes but I strongly suggest having bottom lashes as close to your natural lash line as possible so it’ll be more natural. Especially if you’re just starting out, start close to your natural lash line.

And as for trimming, make sure you do if the ends are pokey, if the lash band is too long for your eye length or too long to handle. Always do what you feel most comfortable doing.

2) “…. brown eyeliner…”
Try using eyeshadow instead so the line will be less harsh and more natural.

3) “Draw on the inner corners of the eye and lower waterline… with a white shimmer eyeliner…”
I won’t comment on the grammar of the sentence (“…. a wider-looking eyes.”)

I generally don’t suggest using shimmer liner on the waterline. It may look okay in pictures but in real life, unless you are going for the Ageha look (Ageha back in 2007, maybe), just leave your waterline unlined. Or if you want to line it, have a short black line just under your iris, it will serve to enlarge your pupils.

Venus doesn’t have “pseudo Japanese-accented English”, it’s an Austrian accent.

Please watch.

And then watch this.

Saying Venus has “pseudo Japanese accented English” is like saying Arnold Schwarzeneggar has “pseudo Japanese-accented English”, but that’s just me.

Now then, let me talk about the makeup in the photos.

I don’t understand why they did this.

Or this.

The style that they used for the model’s makeup is dated.

The eye makeup is too heavy and the lips and cheeks are far too strong. She looks like a doll, yes, but maybe one from the 60s.

I cannot understand what they were thinking when they were styling the model’s hair either.

Perhaps they should have gotten someone else to do the makeup for the day, or asked the bloggers they invited to the shoot to do the makeup for the model because this looks really unacceptable.

There is no one hard and fast rule to techniques in makeup but there is one rule overall, which is to look good.

===================================================

I’ve attached my YT video below on how I do my own makeup below as a rough guide to how I do things in case you missed it while browsing.

See you again real soon, darl, and in the meantime, stay strong and true to what you believe in.

Do what you’re most comfortable with, believe in yourself and don’t you let anyone get you down for how you look.

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sylvia said, on May 11, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    This article is so mistaken :/ My model’s Nishikawa Mizuki anyway~ Their just stereotyping all gyarus •___•

    • Sylvia said, on May 11, 2012 at 3:23 pm

      My favourite model & they’re. Sorry for the mistakes! >_>

    • Jae said, on May 12, 2012 at 9:59 am

      HEY SYLVIA!
      Mmm. Haha, yeah, well… Blanket stereotyping is a great sin. It’s a shame that Urban fell victim to that.
      -hugs- And yes, haha I think Mizuki is one of the cutest girls around too!

  2. @adesabrina said, on May 11, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    are you fucking kidding me? that black hair “model” is a total fashion victim. whoever styled her ought to be shot!

    good grief.

    • Jae said, on May 12, 2012 at 10:00 am

      Hey Sabrina!
      Haha, tell me about it. I don’t know what they were thinking but the images clearly didn’t turn out too well.

  3. @adesabrina said, on May 11, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    oh and btw, the cover girl doesn’t know her angel. she looks like her face is freaking disproportionate and warped. *pulls hair*

  4. Felicia Tay said, on May 11, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    I feel the article is all wrong to begin with. I honestly feel this style make-up makes one looks really cute and innocent. Have no idea that it will attract pedophiles. Geez. “Use foundation that’s two tones lighter than your natural skin” – seriously? Will look like snowman.

    • Jae said, on May 12, 2012 at 10:03 am

      Hey Felicia!
      Welcome to smashedmakeupbag.com, dearie! 🙂
      And haha, well. I do think that a lot of people have the wrong idea of Gyaru/GAL style and makeup.
      I just really wish that the author would have done a better job researching the genre. And I’m also really interested in knowing where she got her information from, quite frankly. Very disappointing stuff from our local media.

      -laughing- Omg, snowman. A little too early for that, yeah? Nearer to Christmas, perhaps. XD

  5. §trawberrica said, on May 11, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    woww i just don’t have much to say about this…
    i’m kinda seething a bit ._.
    puuuu. my model is otsuko 8D in terms of gyaru i guess…
    then again, my major fangirl-obsession is over an otona girly model in vivi, Reina Triendl i love herrrr. and Rinka ❤

    (btw welcome back! for some reason my comments dont seem to be appearing? i commented on at least 3 of the new posts you made after your return OTL

    • §trawberrica said, on May 11, 2012 at 5:28 pm

      also, it’s kinda mean what she said about venus ;_; she’s adorable

      • Jae said, on May 12, 2012 at 10:06 am

        HEY BERRIES DEAR!
        Omg, I went back to approve your comments, darling… I think they’re all out already and I’m so sorry about the delay, sweetheart…
        Sigh, haha, I think they really need to dig deeper when they touch on such topics.

        And thank you so so much for taking time out to read my posts, babe… T___T I should be the one welcoming you back to smashedmakeupbag!

  6. jodie said, on May 11, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    I can’t agree any more! Clearly I haven’t read the real thing myself but I have to agree it took quite some time for the author to see the trend as well eh, the article just seems pretty stereotypical as though information were taken just from that pov. :\
    The makeup.. I guess it’s just an article so it gets bit outdated and defo exaggerating 😐 zzz haha ey probs 60-80s yeh..
    Venus’s accent.. Ahaha I didn’t know where it come from but ahahaha…
    Guess I do now 🙂

    Thanks for sharing ❤ !! Very interesting 🙂

    • Jae said, on May 12, 2012 at 10:08 am

      JODIE BABY!
      -nods- It is, it is, dear. And haha, I think the makeup in the pictures… Haha, I don’t even know what to say anymore, honestly. I don’t know how any of that made it to be print. It feels almost like a jab at the style.

      And haha, no no babe, thank you for reading! -hugs-

  7. PuriGal said, on May 12, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    Tsubasa has had black hair for over a year now…

  8. xxmilkyxxx said, on May 12, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    I was watching a tv show the other day called “Snog Marry Avoid” and a gajin gyaru was chosen to be one of the candidates for a “natural beauty” makeover and the hosts on the show were being plain rude (criticising her nails, hair, eyemakeup, fashion sense… EVERYTHING.)
    I just hate it when the media presents gyaru-style in a negative light. Ugh -.- your post just happened to remind me of that show too, haha 🙂
    Looking forward to more of your posts!

  9. Sze Min said, on May 14, 2012 at 10:30 am

    I was pretty speechless when I first read this, because it’s such a simplistic view of gyaru, but after thinking more about it, I guess the point of the article is the trend in Singapore, not gyaru in general, so probably that’s why they focused so much on the dolly look… though I totally agree with you that their information is pretty outdated. And those makeup tips? Not following them on my life!

  10. Victoria said, on May 15, 2012 at 9:25 am

    Wait… how is Tsubasa a hime gyaru? LOL.

  11. Serene said, on May 25, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    I’m raising my both hands (literally) in approving what you’d said in this post, this doll-like makeup has been super long, it’s not really a recent trend (not to mention that it’s so not for SG, Jap still have those makeup style but you’ll rarely see on the street).

    I might not be good in such makeup but i know how they should be done. Previously, we’ll have popteen/popsister’s mag having model with more dramatic lashes + flick up eyeliner trademark and it had changed long ago to going down and eyelash being as natural as possible. Thick eyeliner is not Jap-style but Korea-style honestly, see those K-pop style with thick & black eyeliner. Both style involves natural (almost invisible) cheek color + contour + lip color!

    I’m kinda feeling that SG public news are getting far-fetching unreliable!


Leave a Reply

